Hong Kong Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  2.8
 Rooms  2.6
 Cleanliness  2.6
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  2.6
 Service & Staff  2.7
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  2.9

"Worst Hostel Ever I've been To!!! Never Ever Go to this Place!!!"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Cathy B. of Rizal, Philippines
Reviewed:   August 12, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I made a reservation for 4 ADULTS but actually we are a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children). I even sent an email to them a couple of times confirming my booking here at instantworldbooking. And when I checked in, they told me that my reservation is for 2 people only. And the worst thing is that, they made me pay 100HKD per child per night. Total of 600HKD for 3 nights!!! They even have the worst customer service! Rooms have cockroaches! Beds are too small! The building is filthy! I will never go back to this place again! EVER!!!

"1"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Liao K. of taiwan, Taiwan
Reviewed:   February 20, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2012     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
我遭遇服務最差的酒店,付了預定金.卻沒有幫我保留.讓我到了,又沒有房間住.一定得要先付完全額才能住.我對香港酒店相當失望,預先打了電話也沒有用,非常的失望與難過,

"Our First Time in HongKong Experience"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   WERNER G. of LAS PINAS CITY, Philippines
Reviewed:   August 22, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Tai Wan Hotel is not worthy of being called a hotel. It's room for rent does not meet the sanitation; safety standards of any budget inn. It's featured rooms shown on the internet are so deceiving. It is more like a miserable cage that you cannot stand spending the whole night without waiting for the morning to come and get the chance to move out. It is stinky; and the bathroom is abominable. Outside the hotel, it is like a jungle where swindlers; pickpockets and muggers are on the prowl and waiting for every chance to get their hands on their victims. The persons on the reception desk are so despicable.

Our first time experience in Hongkong made us sorry why we ever chose to spend our weekend just to get into a fight with the Tai wan Hotel receptionist which ate up most of our holiday. We were coerced into paying for 2 nights stay for an actual 6 hours stay only.

"WARNING... DO NOT STAY HERE!"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Fiona D. of Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed:   June 14, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place is disgusting.
The Chungking mansions is a huge busy building with many other hostels inside it, there are 'touters'(people trying to sell you things and drag you to their hostels) all hanging around the entrance 24/7. We ignored them but were tricked into believing a guy who claimed to be from our hostel, he was friendly, not pushy and seemed genuine. He took us to the reception and pretended he had our booking in his paperwork then took my copy of reference number etc and payment for 3 nights.
After spending one night we had a bad feeling that something wasn't right and went to look around for the 'Apple Hostel' where we had booked. They were very sympathetic and called the police for us. They arrived within 10 mins and came with us to the Taiwan Hotel & got our money back.
One of us was badly bitten by bed bugs all over his body and another had cockroaches and rats in the ceiling of his tiny room.
Later I noticed a sign saying that they rent rooms by the hour.... not a nice place.
If you really must stay in the Chungking mansions, then find your hostel by yourself (the signs are above the lifts)and don't speak to anybody downstairs.

I see the photos advertised of the Taiwan Hotel look nothing like it!!! dodgy

""HORRIBLE!!!" ~"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Terry J. of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed:   March 25, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Never believe this hostel,nothing true about their own description
When we arrival,they collect all the room fee,that's alright ,since we get in the room,our nightmare begun,the room was old and with bad smell,we told their staff that we like to change rooms,but they just refuse and telling us that's all we booked and we should pay more $100 for upgrade to a better room,as i think it's not worth to do so,we just stay a nignt and see how things go on.
we found some cockroach inside room and just keep feeling something bit me all the night
we just run away when the sun rising up,it's a long terrible night for us
I would strongly recommend not to book at this so called hotel

"challenging yet exciting experience at Tai Wan Hotel"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Sheryl Lyn C. of Davao City, Philippines
Reviewed:   March 15, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It is our 1st time to travel to Hongkong and bringing with me my family and 2 other friends, quite challenging it is to book our hostel without any idea of it on the actual. Seeing it for the first time very early in the morning was quite ironic...scared at first but chic for the rest of our stay at Tai Wan Hotel. "CHIC" well turned out in the English Dictionary, is the caption Tradename of our company,...and glad to say it was indeed Chic staying at the hostel. The owner was accommodoting though we had a hard time at first understanding her, yet we can see in her gestures and best efforts to make us safe, comfortable and well-accommodated as much as possible. Familiar faces of co-Filipinos, even Mindanaoans were right at our faces each time at the elevator. I love their elevator system..heheh its funny but systematic! Get to know it when you're there:) Anyways, Thank you 2x and never would have second thoughts reccommending the hostel to friends and family to get to HK 1st time:) nor second,third and the nth time!:) In fact a lot have asked us already after our vacation. Good luck and see u again next time soon!

"Rip Off STAY AWAY"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Ryan C. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   March 29, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
600 hundred rooms??? I saw 600 hundred cockroaches. This chung king mansion is just a dump. The hong kong government should tear it down. It is just a sore spot for this beautifull city. The only thing got going for this guesthouse is the low priced rooms. The wait for the elevator is just horrible, it takes us 30 minutes just to wait for one lift. I felt like I went to Africa or India. Their is no racist overtones just if I wanted to visit those beautiful countries I would've opted. The owner is just a crook. When we first checked our reservation got screwed up due to language barrier (as the owner claims) but once it got to the payment part his english got better (go figure). Yeh they smile at you but it just seems like they smile because they felt the satisfaction of ripping you off. Why bother for a couple of dollars more it is better to stay on the Hong Kong island.

"Tai Wan hotel"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Matt M. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 20, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
You get what you pay for and the Chungking Mansions does exactly that. If you can afford to go somewhere else, I would recommend so. No fire escape, room had cockroaches and the ac was either full on ('king cold) or off (sweating at night). HK is a fantastic place and you do have to experience Chungking Mansions, but go and visit rather than stay!

"Be Careful"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   David J. of Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed:   December 20, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I agree with what happened with Mr. P.V from Singapore - the same case happened with me. What the photo he shows in the webiste for booking is totally fake. Also he write having 600 rooms which is totally false. Infact in the whole building of Chunkung Mansion there would not be 600 rooms available in the Guest House.

In Chunking Mansion there is no Hotel only Guest houses and he write hotel so as to misguide the customers. The room are so small and so dirty - no safety provisions are made making it very unsafe.
The boss - Mr. Lee is not a good man and he makes false promise on the Internet and before showing the room he takes all the money whether you take it or not.
I had a very bad experience with him and I would suggest that be careful before you make booking with Taiwan Hotel

"Worst Experience of my life in Taiwan Hotel"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   P V. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   October 22, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I never expected this. When I arrived in Taiwan Hotel, the manager took the full payment for 2 days and then he showed me the room. The room was so small that hardly a single bed could fit in that. It was a double decker bed and the room size was around 6 ft long and hardly 2.5 ft wide. I told the manager that this is not the room, I booked then he started arguing with me. He told me this is the only room available and take it or leave it. When I told him about my advance booking, he became furious and started using bad words. During the internet booking, I was told about private bathroom but he showed me a very dirty shared bathroom outside the hotel.

When I told him I dont want the room, he refused to return my money. I went outside and enquired about the hotel and manager, the security guard below told me nothing can be done as the hotel manager is like that.

I was in big problem but somehow I managed to find a different hotel in the same building. The Taiwan Hotel did not return my money neither they gave me any decent room.

I would strongly advice any person not to use Taiwan Hotel. Most important, do not give the money unless you see the room.


1 - 10 of 10 reviews




HongKongInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us