Hong Kong Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  2.8
 Rooms  2.6
 Cleanliness  2.6
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  2.6
 Service & Staff  2.7
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  2.9

"Small but cheap, clean and good location"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Paco A. of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Reviewed:   October 2, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2011     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very small room but clean and well condition, space for bed and to walk to your bed, no day light, bathroom exaggerated small, you have to fight against the walls and the wc-pot to take shower and then to dry yourself, ridiculous. The lift is ridiculous small and you have to wait in the cue.
Reception is in another tower, so you have to "travel" to the 3rd floor (?) of the one tower (difficult cause of lift), then to your room in another tower, at the end the same to return key and get deposit back.
Price is cheap for HK, however later I had found st cheaper and bigger but older. Many western tourist stay there.

There are many of that kind of cheap hotels in the area and people is chasing you offering them.

"Stay inTai Wan Hotel on 14 June 2011 to 21 June 2011"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Gim Sng Y. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   July 6, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2011     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
When I arrived at Tai Wan Hotel, it was 10:36 pm Hong Kong time. I took A21 bus service from the airport and travelled for about 45 minutes. (I get this information from web, basically, I think it is publish by the chain hotel administrator. At the time I visited Hong Kong, the Chung Kin Mansion is under some kind of major re-construction. Therefore, I have to walk to it main entrance to make sure I am on the right place when I saw Chung Kin Mansion wording in Chinese.
When I gone up to Chung Kin Mansion A Block 3rd floor. The lady Ms. Zhang was half slept in the receptionist counter. Talk very fast and sullen looks. She asked for the balance payment and HKD 100 deposit. After that, she brought me to a single room without bathroom. The room is tiny and with a wide bed, but not long enough for me. I think it is just about 172 cm long. And I am a 178 skinny man. The pillow is stink but the condition still consider bearable to me. But, when I need to use the shared toilet at the corner to wash up. I found that the door is very difficult to close tight. It goes without sitting ring and it is so tiny that you can't even able to move your legs. Luckily, there is another slightly bigger bathroom. But, I had to wait until mid-night 2am to use it.
As the condition is not too good. I asked for a single room with a toilet. And I paid additional HKD 50 per night for it. The lady gave me a room at E Block of Chung Kin Mansion 11 storey. Yes, the room is bigger and bathroom with spray shower, better air-conditional, LAN Line and Telephone with a same sized bed as before. But it has bedbug. I saw 3 on my bed the next morning and been bitten by one under my right cheek. Immediately I asked to shift down to A Block 3rd floor. This time they given me a nice and clean tiny room with bathroom but the bed is about 170 cm long. I took it and felt ok with the room. But time to time the air-con will suck in cigarette smell or smoke from somewhere. This really made me gone mad.

In conclusion, I found that booking for website may not be the cheaper price you can get. In fact, if you called on the door you may able to get a even better price. For example, I am paying HKD 190 per night. You may able to get it at HKD 150.

Secondly, the room keeper Mr. Peter Ong is like a bear with a sore head, full of vulgar language in his mouth. easy irritated.

Ms. Zhang spoke in very fast speed but is kind and has some humour.

My recommandation is there are many hostel around, if you can spend some time looking around. You may able to find a better one with good price.

"unfriendly lady"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Lyn A. of quezon city, Philippines
Reviewed:   February 1, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
we got a quite decent accommodation for two, but the set back of the place is the unfriendly receptionist who greeted us with her early morning outburst. we arrived there at around 7am, she treated us very rudely, telling us that we arrived too early, when in fact, this website asked for the time of our arrival. she also told us that the door of the communal bathroom was broken so we better book a room with a private bathroom for an additional fee. we were also not able to get our deposit for the key because she won't wake up when we were knocking on her door and we don't want to be late for our flight. im still grateful for my stay there but i don't think i will ever be back there anytime soon. maybe not anymore. who would be encouraged to return if a grumpy old woman is the one who'll greet you upon your arrival. hope the hostel will get a friendlier receptionist. though the building is very old, and the first floor is full of Pakistani people selling stuff and offering you hotel accommodations, i can still accept all those if only the people in the hostel had been friendly enough. but since the accommodation was old and scary, and the old lady was very rude, it was not worth it to come back.

"Friendly staff"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Indra Y. of singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   June 15, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Friendly staff and quite prompt upon request. Nice view from the hotel room and we've got free upgrade to a bigger room. Overall, we are happy and satisfied throughout our stay in Twaiwan hotel.

"Tai Wan Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Claudio B. of Campomarino, Italy
Reviewed:   March 16, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have been in Tai Wan hostel two weeks ago.

It's not so easy to find a cheap and good hostel in Hong Kong, but if you are an experienced traveller and you have to stay in Hong Kong for a short time, Tai Wan hostel could be a nice solution.
Not so expensive, but i suggest to book a single room, because double or multiple rooms (and toilets) are not so clean and comfortable.
Instead, single rooms are quite good, comfortable and clean.

I think the biggest problem of Tai Wan hostel is "security": especially on night, there are crowds of people trying to fraud you in every way. You just have to avoid them and to be careful because they could also steal your money.

On the other hand, staff is very kind. moreover, it's very close to Tsim Sha Tsui Metro Station (the most central place in Kowloon)

"Trip to Macau and Hongkong"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   A B. of Malaybalay City, Philippines
Reviewed:   March 16, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Our trip to Macau and Hongkong is one of the best in our Asian trips, However , our problem is how to communicate since most of the people we meet there cxould not speak and understand English. Thanks that were filipinos whom we met as we roam around the city. It was they who taught us the right directions. People there are not courteous. We filipinos are malambing and are not use to be shouted. The hotel accomodation is better and affordable but the problem is when we check at the Tai Wan Hotel the desk officer required us to pay addditional HK30 with an agreement that we will be given a better room otherwise we will be accomodated in anot so good room. No official receipts were issied to the additional fees they charged. The room we occupied is okey but no toiletries were issued compared to other hoteks we have checked in. No available utensils were provided where we can used if we wished to drink something hot in the early morning.Hope my comments will somehow improve our services.

"best hostels in HK"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Rhys K. of Australia, Australia
Reviewed:   November 19, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Wi-Fi worked in my room. Each room had TV/DVD player along with HUNDREDS of DVDs to choose from (for free). The staff was wonderful. The travel desk was a real help! Sim made my stay wonderful and if I ever go back I will make sure to stay here again.

"recommend place"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Mark D. of US, United States
Reviewed:   October 4, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i like everything about the hostel except the size of the room :D the staff: very friendly and the location: the BEST. :D, I'll recommend this place!

"tai wan hotel hong kong"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Rachel M. of Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed:   September 16, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
if you're on a budget this place is awesome, for a private room with two double beds, a tv and our own bathroom it only cost us £8 per night (with a little bargaining the owners will give you a good deal especially if you want to stay longer!) rooms were basic but got clean sheets everyday and apart from the odd "visitor" which you can expect anywhere you stay in hong kong the rooms were fine! oh and had air conditioning too. the building itself is a bit crazy so be prepared...its in the infamous chunking mansions which if you've never been before is an experience in itself, prepared to be hassled everytime you enter and leave the place! the location is perfect though its right in the heart of kowloon and you can walk to absolutly everything. best bit definitly the staff...so lovely!

"good hostel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   David J. of NYC, United States
Reviewed:   May 30, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My inpression with the one where I stayed in first night in Hong Kong was excellent! The room was VERY clean and it looked just renovated. Also the other one what I was impressed was safety concern by hotel manegement. There was security camera woking 24 hours a day. So I can recommend woman traveling alone to stay there by herself.


1 - 10 of 12 reviews  Next 2 results




HongKongInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us