Hong Kong Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  2.8
 Rooms  2.6
 Cleanliness  2.6
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  2.6
 Service & Staff  2.7
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  2.9

"Trip to Macau and Hongkong"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   A B. of Malaybalay City, Philippines
Reviewed:   March 16, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Our trip to Macau and Hongkong is one of the best in our Asian trips, However , our problem is how to communicate since most of the people we meet there cxould not speak and understand English. Thanks that were filipinos whom we met as we roam around the city. It was they who taught us the right directions. People there are not courteous. We filipinos are malambing and are not use to be shouted. The hotel accomodation is better and affordable but the problem is when we check at the Tai Wan Hotel the desk officer required us to pay addditional HK30 with an agreement that we will be given a better room otherwise we will be accomodated in anot so good room. No official receipts were issied to the additional fees they charged. The room we occupied is okey but no toiletries were issued compared to other hoteks we have checked in. No available utensils were provided where we can used if we wished to drink something hot in the early morning.Hope my comments will somehow improve our services.

"challenging yet exciting experience at Tai Wan Hotel"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Sheryl Lyn C. of Davao City, Philippines
Reviewed:   March 15, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It is our 1st time to travel to Hongkong and bringing with me my family and 2 other friends, quite challenging it is to book our hostel without any idea of it on the actual. Seeing it for the first time very early in the morning was quite ironic...scared at first but chic for the rest of our stay at Tai Wan Hotel. "CHIC" well turned out in the English Dictionary, is the caption Tradename of our company,...and glad to say it was indeed Chic staying at the hostel. The owner was accommodoting though we had a hard time at first understanding her, yet we can see in her gestures and best efforts to make us safe, comfortable and well-accommodated as much as possible. Familiar faces of co-Filipinos, even Mindanaoans were right at our faces each time at the elevator. I love their elevator system..heheh its funny but systematic! Get to know it when you're there:) Anyways, Thank you 2x and never would have second thoughts reccommending the hostel to friends and family to get to HK 1st time:) nor second,third and the nth time!:) In fact a lot have asked us already after our vacation. Good luck and see u again next time soon!

"best hostels in HK"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Rhys K. of Australia, Australia
Reviewed:   November 19, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Wi-Fi worked in my room. Each room had TV/DVD player along with HUNDREDS of DVDs to choose from (for free). The staff was wonderful. The travel desk was a real help! Sim made my stay wonderful and if I ever go back I will make sure to stay here again.

"recommend place"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Mark D. of US, United States
Reviewed:   October 4, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i like everything about the hostel except the size of the room :D the staff: very friendly and the location: the BEST. :D, I'll recommend this place!

"tai wan hotel hong kong"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Rachel M. of Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed:   September 16, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
if you're on a budget this place is awesome, for a private room with two double beds, a tv and our own bathroom it only cost us £8 per night (with a little bargaining the owners will give you a good deal especially if you want to stay longer!) rooms were basic but got clean sheets everyday and apart from the odd "visitor" which you can expect anywhere you stay in hong kong the rooms were fine! oh and had air conditioning too. the building itself is a bit crazy so be prepared...its in the infamous chunking mansions which if you've never been before is an experience in itself, prepared to be hassled everytime you enter and leave the place! the location is perfect though its right in the heart of kowloon and you can walk to absolutly everything. best bit definitly the staff...so lovely!

"good hostel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   David J. of NYC, United States
Reviewed:   May 30, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My inpression with the one where I stayed in first night in Hong Kong was excellent! The room was VERY clean and it looked just renovated. Also the other one what I was impressed was safety concern by hotel manegement. There was security camera woking 24 hours a day. So I can recommend woman traveling alone to stay there by herself.

"Rip Off STAY AWAY"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Ryan C. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   March 29, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
600 hundred rooms??? I saw 600 hundred cockroaches. This chung king mansion is just a dump. The hong kong government should tear it down. It is just a sore spot for this beautifull city. The only thing got going for this guesthouse is the low priced rooms. The wait for the elevator is just horrible, it takes us 30 minutes just to wait for one lift. I felt like I went to Africa or India. Their is no racist overtones just if I wanted to visit those beautiful countries I would've opted. The owner is just a crook. When we first checked our reservation got screwed up due to language barrier (as the owner claims) but once it got to the payment part his english got better (go figure). Yeh they smile at you but it just seems like they smile because they felt the satisfaction of ripping you off. Why bother for a couple of dollars more it is better to stay on the Hong Kong island.

"Convenient"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Ong V. of Singapore, Malaysia
Reviewed:   March 3, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hostel TW very close to the MTR station and the shopping areas. It also nearby the main bus station and ferry terminal(internal ferry + macau-hk ferry terminal). Most of the shops around open till 11pm.

"Tai Wan hotel"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Matt M. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 20, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
You get what you pay for and the Chungking Mansions does exactly that. If you can afford to go somewhere else, I would recommend so. No fire escape, room had cockroaches and the ac was either full on ('king cold) or off (sweating at night). HK is a fantastic place and you do have to experience Chungking Mansions, but go and visit rather than stay!

"Be Careful"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   David J. of Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed:   December 20, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I agree with what happened with Mr. P.V from Singapore - the same case happened with me. What the photo he shows in the webiste for booking is totally fake. Also he write having 600 rooms which is totally false. Infact in the whole building of Chunkung Mansion there would not be 600 rooms available in the Guest House.

In Chunking Mansion there is no Hotel only Guest houses and he write hotel so as to misguide the customers. The room are so small and so dirty - no safety provisions are made making it very unsafe.
The boss - Mr. Lee is not a good man and he makes false promise on the Internet and before showing the room he takes all the money whether you take it or not.
I had a very bad experience with him and I would suggest that be careful before you make booking with Taiwan Hotel


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 22 reviews  Next 2 results




HongKongInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us