Hong Kong Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.9
 Rooms  2.9
 Cleanliness  3.1
 Location  4.1
 Security & Safety  2.9
 Service & Staff  2.9
 Food / Dining  2.6
 Total  3.3

"my opinion"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   P L. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   October 15, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2012     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Me Peter is really cooperative. Other females are so arrogant and uncooperative that I left room next day. Room is very horrible, private bathroom means only toilet, after that you need to stand after toilet for shower. I would suggest to stay in deluxe Chung king mention guest house. It is just very nice.

"soggiorno ad hong kong"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Paolo A. of avigliana, Italy
Reviewed:   September 21, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
sicuramente situato in una posizione bellissima,in pieno centro di koowlon,molto comodo,molto economico,gestori simpatici,non elegante,pulito,per chi ha poche pretese,un pò disordinato come ambiente generale,motlo piccole le camere,

"Cheap price and Good Service"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Takahiro N. of Shimizu-ku, Japan
Reviewed:   April 24, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I arrived this guest House at 8:30 am and the owner was really friendly,he told me the check out time is 12:00 and I can get the room after 12:30,he let me take shower at his house and leave my bag there,then i went out and look around,the location for this building are really excellent,i can easily take subway to lots of sites,I back to this guest hose on 2:45 pm, the owner Peter moved all my bag to a single room,the room was bit small,but clean and tidy with good bathroom,they borrow me notebook for free .Also Peter told me a lot of things about Hong Kong and shopping nearby,he is very nice man,i will come back to this guest house seven days after return from china

"terrible service!"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Somrak C. of bkk, Thailand
Reviewed:   April 15, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
am a woman traveling alone. Then, I decided to book the room at New China guest house (Hongkong) via internet. I went there before noon and the owner said I must leave things in his mansion and can come back to check in after 12.30. I think it would be OK.

I went out to see around and went back to check in around 2.30 p.m. However, he said mysingle room had not been available. He then let me to go to double room and said that I can stay in this room until 6 p.m. After that, he will let me go to a single room.

I was very tired and want to have a shower and rest for a while. But after taking a shower and take a rest, another female owner came to knock the door and told me to move out because new guests are coming and they want double room. So I had to pack my things and take them to owner mansion again. I was very upset because I already paid money and I could not go to the new place. The owner didn't keep their promise to give a room in afternoon. This is very bad service. I complained o them but they didn't care and seem to dissatisfy my response. They just told me to go out for a city tour and said "we will give you a single room when you come back". I stayed only one night here.

"Not that bad and its valuable for money"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Barry L. of Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed:   February 15, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hongkonginstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I am a student from Malaysia ,
i just stayed there for 2 nignts 11 Feb 2009,the room was clean and safety,the owner Peter even gave me a map for free and gave me advise about buying computer products in Hong Kong
i heard that this guest house was not good and some said it's terrible,i choose this just because of its prices,however i thought it's just fine and far better that my expectation
i would recommend to my friends who wants cheap and good place to stay in hong kong

"Tiny but Worth it"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Shereen S. of London, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed:   October 29, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I'm in HK for 6 months, booked 3 days while I looked for an apartment. Single female by myself heard lots of stories about Chung King (the block that it's in) but decided I'd see for myself. The room I was given - a single is tiny but clean. Sheets could be in better condition though...!

The room has free local telephone calls to mobiles and landlines which was essential for me, free cable TV (BBC World News / TV Pearl are English speaking channels) and free wifi internet access in my room (New China 3) 24hrs a day. For that alone, it was more than worth it.

The manager is friendly, the two guys that work on reception (Toby and...?!) are really nice and chilled but the managers wife looked like a moody one so I'd steer clear of her. There is a fridge, microwave and free laundry facilities available and if you don't have a laptop you can use theres.

The block itself (Chung King) is disgusting, horrible, filthy full of men that seem to hang about all day and you have to wait a long time for the lifts which are usually packed.

The location is about 5mins walk from TST station so perfect and Mcd's is across the road to the right (about 3min walk) if you've had enough fried rice...!

There are security guards across the ground floor of the building and security cameras in the lifts.

All in all, Im an economist so I believe you should definitely get what you pay for and I think here you do...I'm still here (writing this in my room actually!) as I decided to extend my stay from 3 days to 2 weeks until my lease starts.

bye xx

"HORRIBLE!!!"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Melissa G. of Vancouver, United States
Reviewed:   July 30, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My friend and I stayed at this hostel for a week and it was nothing but a terrible experience! Even after we paid on this website to hold our spot they did not have a room for us when we got there. We had to move to another location. When they charged us for the room they messed up on the convertion and almost charged us 1500 HK$ more then what we were suppose to pay. The quilt covers had no quilts in them so you only had a sheet for sleeping. One night we arrived back to our room and there were people sleeping in our room! The owner told us that she had to move our stuff to another room since they had a reservation (as if we didn't). We had to go through all of our stuff to make sure that we still had everything. It was an invasion of our privacy and she could have at least asked us to move that morning instead of waiting untill the last minute. The older gentlemen was very nice but the lady was very rude and very inconsiderate. The room that our stuff was moved to had a very dirty bathroom and was much smaller. The television didn't work and you had to share your phone line so you may be on the phone and someone will pick up and start dialing. We had random people calling us at 2 in the morning. The walk from our room down to the street was not safe for a female to travel alone. Several times we had to walk past guys making inappropriate gestures or remarks, and guys on the ground tweaking out (clearly from and overdose). Overall, our time at this hostel was a horrible experience and I would strongly recommend not to book at this location.


1 - 7 of 7 reviews




HongKongInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us