Hong Kong Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  2.9
 Rooms  2.6
 Cleanliness  2.9
 Location  3.3
 Security & Safety  2.7
 Service & Staff  2.7
 Food / Dining  3.0
 Total  2.9

"Not advisable to stay in chunking mansion"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Ac R. of Manila, Philippines
Reviewed:   January 29, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2014     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Our stay in li's hostel was not so good. We reserved a room online thru hostel traveler but when we arrived there, the receptionist mentioned that the room is bot available and that they have a one room available for 400hk dollars a night. We mentioned that we reserved for the cheaper room how come it not available when if fact we were able to reserved it online.. The receptionist kept on telling us that the room is not available. In the end, we accepted the room since we do not know anywhere else to stay in hong kong,. Upon entering the room, our first reaction was too small. But it left us no choice since the attendant cannot understand english well. I cant say anything good about this hostel and its associate hostels. The room is small. Single sized bed for two. It has no water heater plus the towels were like floor mats. The beddings were like not cleaned or laundry after the previous occupant. It's not advisable to stay in here, in chunking mansion.

"Review of Li's Hostel"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Peter J. of Texas, United States
Reviewed:   April 2, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2013     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
DONT STAY HERE. They do everything thay can to con you out of money. I travelled with 3 others but we arrived at different times and each time one of us arrived they demanded we pay the full amount before they showed us the room. Even though I had paid the full amount online, two of my friends ended up paying about $150 USD each. After much frustration and arguing with the receptionist we eventually got our money back. Then after one day they said we needed to switch rooms becuase ours had a bathroom but we only made a reservation for a room with a shard bathroom. So they said move all of your stuff a few floors up or pay more money. Our reservation also said "4 beds" and I sent an email to confirm that it was actually 4 seperate beds and not 2 large beds, but still, when we got there it was two double beds and they insisted that that was "4 beds" regardless of the previous emails I had sent to make sure. Receptionists were extremely rude and unhelpful. Just dont stay here. Not worth it.

"our experience at Li's"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Almira S. of tacloban, Philippines
Reviewed:   April 6, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2012     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
actually we have not stayed at Li's Hostel..because of the unfriendly receptionist we were not able to stay there. And the receptionist told us that they have no confirmation in fact we brought the emailed confirmation sent to us.. We're so dismayed bout it..the fact that we're so tired and sleepy coming from our travel from macau..we just landed on another hostel..proud to say that we found a nice Filipina receptionist and she was the one who helped us book in there hostel..

"nice place to stay"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Lukas J. of Brusperk, Czech Republic
Reviewed:   February 5, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2012     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Small but well placed, right on the Nathan road, cheap, clean. Nice and willing staff.

"Li's Hostel"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Wong T. of HK, Hong Kong
Reviewed:   June 13, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Too bad !!! Small and dirty room. Strange and unpleasant smell in the room and everywhere nearby the bed, even outside the window.

I should never book this hostel anymore.

"Li's Hostel"

User Rating:  1.1
Reviewer:   Karen Abegail C. of Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewed:   December 13, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Will never either return or recommend this hostel. Our stay with Li's was terrible. It was a nightmare. We paid for Standard Room, they gave us the Budget Room, which has double decks, aircon not functioning well, windows with no lock, how can you feel safe when you leave your things behind?Staff and all the people is disgusting.

"Li's Hostel Service!!!"

User Rating:  1.6
Reviewer:   Siti Halizah S. of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed:   November 15, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Actually I am not happy stay at Li's Hostel, coz in booking confirmation I booked for 6 bed in 1 room and the confirmation say sucsess. When I arrive there, the reception doesnt now well English & she give separate room & I have to pay another HK Dollar 100, different with booking confirmation.
Hostel service also not so good & dirty.

"DECEPTION ON THE NET"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Joseph M. of Africa, Zimbabwe
Reviewed:   October 28, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hongkonginstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
When you see the pictures on th enet you think "I MUST go and stay there, thats only UNTIL you get there. and you (as stated in one other review) get into the match box rooms, like the rooms are REALLY small, like really small!!! The best description i could give is "dingy" My wife and i decided there is no way we will spend the night here, so we tried to check out, having paid for two nights, well we were told that you cant get cash back, as a policy. This you are only told AFTER you have paid!!!! Well it was still better for us to walk away from that cash than entertain spending the night there! So its ok they can steal my money, coz thats how i felt, i mean i didnt sleep there but they refused even to refund me for one night!!!!

Guess they got my money but lost me and anyone who i will ever speak to going to HK. Cant comment on Security and Food, didnt have anhy so i left the rating at 3, as for location, good road, awful building, like really awful.

"Average Stay"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Kate W. of Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed:   October 8, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Our team arrived in 2 groups and the first group had to deal with bed bugs and cockroaches and the 2nd group had to squeeze into tiny box like rooms. It was ok as we were only there for 2 nights but i wouldn't take our group there again.

"BAD Place"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Sara C. of sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   June 5, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We arrived in HK 11.30pm from a direct flight from sydney, such late arrival time we thought it best to book ahead... what a mistake... we were given a terrible room... extremely small only a 3/4 size bed not a double and very dirty... and we've both travelled to India as backpackers on the cheap but this was not even comparable to India so BAD!!! So then we spent hours trying to find somewhere else and lost our booking fee of $18 ... very disappointing .. feel like we shouldn't have even bothered booking got a place at 3am half the price but ten times better...


1 - 10 of 15 reviews  Next 5 results




HongKongInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us