Hong Kong Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.4
 Security & Safety  3.8
 Service & Staff  4.0
 Food / Dining  3.0
 Total  4.2

"excellent location"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Nate S. of Nonthaburi, Thailand
Reviewed:   May 28, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Our plane was delay so we reached the place 2 hours late. However, the owner was helpful he took us to another place on the same building. We checked out on the following day and the lady was so kind as to keep our bags while we went shopping.

"One night in HK"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Glenn S. of Manly, Australia
Reviewed:   September 10, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Arrived late off the A21 bus from the airport & found my way pretty easy to the office. I only booked the night before online & was moved to another new room in Block A. They told me it was new & was pretty happy as it was clean & everything worked. Very basic & seemed popular with african traders??

"Hollywood Review"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Dara M. of Launceston, Australia
Reviewed:   August 3, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel was clean and well kept. rooms and facilities excellant. well located, excellant value for money

"Highly recommendble accomodation in HK."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Hirohide U. of Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed:   July 22, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hollywoodguest House is located at inside of Choungking Mansion well known as HK Backpacker's Building, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, HK.

If you not familiar with HK geography, you would better to remember to get off the city bus at busstop will be clearly announced as Choungking Mansion in English following wuth Cantonese.

The backpacker building is so easy to recongnizeble from outside.
There are many many crowds to catch you into cheap but susposious accomodation on the road.

After you walk into the building, you will catch the lift up to
the guesthouse and I thought it was at 12 or 13th floor of C lift.

However, the owner, Hong Kong Chinese old woman, ownes other guesthouse at top floor of A lift.

I stayed there in first and second night.

The room was very clean and new!!

Also there was new TV with cable, utility bathroom was also inside.

The rate was 150 HKD a night, little less than 20 USD.

If you concern about least affordablity of accomodation in HK, this guesthouse could make your concern eased but also make your feeling satisfied !

"Chungking Express"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Vincent H. of Los Angeles, United States
Reviewed:   July 13, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a fairly pleasant stay in a clean, private, small and quiet room at a convenient location in Hong Kong. The landlady was nice and accomodating, with good English. It is a very affordable and recommended option "for those who are daring". The hostel is located on the eighth floor of the infamous Chungking Express building. I hate to be racist here, but it would be a big culture shock for many European/Americans to see many Indians and African Muslims residing in the building. Although I encountered no problems with the workers and tenants in building, the building itself being very cramped, at one point, I did feel quite uncomfortable being the only Chinese person crowded in an entire elevator of South Asians. It is a cultural experience of a different kind than expected from Hong Kong.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




HongKongInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us