Hong Kong Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  3.8
 Cleanliness  4.1
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  3.8
 Service & Staff  3.8
 Food / Dining  3.6
 Total  4.0

"NEVER AGAIN! AVOID at all cost!!!"

User Rating:  1.8
Reviewer:   Andee L. of Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewed:   December 30, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I already emailed them (City Guest house) a couple of days before our scheduled deparrture that we will be arriving very early, around 1:30am. They never responded until 12am of the day we were arriving. Of course i was not able to read this email until we were already in Hong Kong. But even still, their reponse was fine. Saying the booking is all good.

Unfortunately, when we arrived there, there was no one waiting, after about 45 mins, 2 guys came. Apparently one was in charge. The Guy in charge was RUDE telling us we were late. (by 30 mins). Immigration can sometime be a hassle for any travelers. Still, if you're advertising as a 24 hours hostel...that shouldn't have been a problem. The lobby had 2 middle eastern guys sleeping on the floor!!!

He then said there was only one room available. And this is a Single accommodation room. Now this is already around 3am. There were 3 of us with bags. We booked 2 double rooms for 11 days. He said we can transfer to a bigger room 4 days after. So we left and considered our deposit gone.

Biased aside, This area, the whole CHUNGKING MANSION is really really convenient to the shopping district and the MTR. No doubt about that, BUT I would never spend a night in any of the hotels here even if i was paid.

The elevator is scary...very small and worn out! And i mean really worn out!!! The whole area feels dodgy as well. Lots of dodegy people outside the entrance that you'd feel like an outsider intruding their territory by the way they look at you. If you're travelling with a family, women or anyone for that matter, unless you're THAT adventurous, AVOID the whol e Chunking mansion area at all cost!!!

"Unbearably unprofessional"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Melissa T. of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed:   December 15, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2010     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I made the booking in Nov, however I did not receive any feedback hence I emailed to check on the confirmation. In the end, I made an international call to the owner and was told that he has cancelled his account with Instant World Booking and no more room available.

The owner did not offer any help to assist me on double check but push me away. I am seriously annoyed!!! Shall never ever book this hostel in my life, will also warn all my friends on this. Trust me, words of mouth is the scariest weapon in the world!

"Small room in reasonable price"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   C P. of Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed:   November 12, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
City Guest House is in the heart of the city. Nearby got many food places and shopping places. All local transportation also is within reach.

However, we were shocked when we step in the room because it is smaller than what we can imagine. But, the staffs are great and very helpful and the room will be cleaned every day. We also can use free internet service and make free local call.

There is only 1 lift that can send us to the hotel. Sometimes, the queue quite long and we need to wait for some time for our turns to go up. Africans, Indian and Pakistanis are at this location. As we are a group of ladies, we dare not go back to hotel too late.

Anyway, the room rate is reasonable.

"nice guesthouse"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Vickey D. of germany, Germany
Reviewed:   June 22, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
hi i just 2 night this guesthouse clean cheapest in chungking mansion friendly staff free wifi tea coffe laundry try this guesthouse if you like chungking mansions

"good guesthouse in Hong Kong"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Llgauskas Z. of Brimmgham, England
Reviewed:   March 18, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed in Hong Kong for 2 weeks and your guest house gave me the best accommodations, aleast better than the other guesthouse's because none of the guest house's have 24hrs camera for security and the prices were also reasonable.

"nice place"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jack J. of hongkong, Hong Kong
Reviewed:   March 13, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
nice and cheap place

"friendly and helpfull staff"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Ap Dillon A. of hongkong, Hong Kong
Reviewed:   February 17, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
clean cheap friendly staff. i stay here more then 4 times.very good cctv system. i love city guest house

"Very nice & friendly place!!!"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Germangirl S. of Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed:   February 15, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We really enjoyed staying here, the staff was very nice & helpful all the time and it was very clean! We would come back everytime and recommend for everybody else!

"my impression"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Geoffroy D. of lille, France
Reviewed:   February 10, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
perfect place for student
the cheapper place in hong kong
really clean near everything
staff really nice and welcoming.

"Cool Place"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Mernel N. of Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed:   January 21, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hongkonginstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I and my family have stayed here for 5 days and the accomodation is quite very good! First reason is that it is very close to the shops where you can just walk. The staff are accomodating and very friendly. They also have internet cafe. I enjoyed my stay here. And most important thing it's cheaper but with excellent accomodation.


1 - 10 of 17 reviews  Next 7 results




HongKongInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us